Grilled Vegetables and Parma Ham Salad

I feel really sad. Happy at the same time, but sad nonetheless. My new job is keeping me busy – to a degree I have not known before. I am still not convinced full time work is for me – but I am only a week into it and I am sure all it needs is a bit of getting used to (or I bloody well hope so!). What really breaks my heart though is that I have no time to cook, and even less time to blog about it. On the upside: I now need to be really inventive with the old lunchbox for it to brighten my sad office existence.

This week has been really hectic for me. On Sunday I left beautiful Sheffield behind and moved to pastures new. I had to get a super early start the following morning, and all the mornings that came after. I finish work at 5, but it is not until half 7 that I finally turn onto our street. With very little food and very little time to go shopping I ended up having a tin of tuna for supper on Friday night.  Lovely. I needed veg, quick. And because I am still hanging on to summer for my life, I wanted it to be a Mediterranean combination of grilled aubergine and tomatoes. Few things are as soothing to an aching soul as a simple dish of grilled veg salad, eaten at an open window overlooking my beautiful new garden on a gloriously sunny lazy Saturday morning. It’s a shame Saturdays only come once a week.

Tell me dear readers, how do you cope with the 9-5 madness?

1 aubergine
a few tomatoes
a few spears of asparagus
as much Parma ham as you like
olive oil
juice of 1/2 lemon
salt, pepper

Chop up the veg in chunks, drizzle with olive oil and season well. Place under a hot grill for about 15-20 minutes but watch it like a hawk. Before the veg has just about done its thing blanch the asparagus in boiling water – you don’t want to look it within an inch of its life.

Arrange all on a plate prettily, drizzle with more oil if you like, scatter with pieces of Parma ham and give it all a few squeezes of lemon juice. Enjoy the summer while it lasts.

About Expat Gourmet

Musings from the kitchen.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

